Archiving or unarchiving chats

Archiving allows you to clear your chat list without deleting your messages.

Follow these steps to archive a chat:

 


Android

To archive

  1. Open Signal to view your chat list.
  2. Tap on the chat and swipe to the right or tap and hold and select archive_android.png Archive from the options at the top.
  3. You can quickly choose to undo through the alert on the bottom of the screen.

To view archived chats

  1. Scroll to the bottom of your chat list.
  2. Tap Archived conversations.

To unarchive

  1. Scroll to the bottom of your chat list.
  2. Tap Archived conversations.
  3. Tap on the chat and swipe to the right or tap and hold and select unarchive_android.png Unarchive from the options at the top.
  4. You can quickly choose to undo through the alert on the bottom of the screen.

 


iOS

To archive

  1. Open Signal to view your chat list.
  2. Tap on the chat and slowly swipe to the left.
  3. Select ios-archive-solid-16.png Archive.

To view archived chats

  1. Scroll to the bottom of your chat list.
  2. Tap Archived Chats.

To unarchive

  1. Scroll to the bottom of your chat list.
  2. Tap Archived Chats.
  3. Tap on the chat and slowly swipe to the left.
  4. Select ios-archive-solid-16.png Unarchive.

 


Desktop

To archive

Select the chat > Chat Settings desktop-chat-settings-Vector.png > Archive

or

Select the chat > use the keyboard shortcut ⌘ Shift A / Ctrl Shift A

 

To view archived chats

  1. Select Signal Settings profile_avatar.png 
    select_profile.png
  2. Select archive-outline-24.png View Archive
    select_archive.png

To unarchive

  1. Above your chat list, click ... > View Archive > select the chat.
  2. Within the chat, click ... > Unarchive.

or

Original source ↗