View Once Media

view-once-one-to-infinity-toggle.gif

Send photos and videos that are automatically deleted from the conversation after they’ve been viewed. This article walks you through how it works from both perspectives, whether you’re sending or receiving view-once media. 


Sender

How can I send a view once media message?

  1. Open your group or individual conversation.
  2. Tap or click Plus.png for adding an attachment, then choose a media file.
  3. Tap View once-infinite.png on mobile or click View once-slash.png on Desktop to switch to the View once-1.png view-once icon.
  4. Tap Send on iOS send_ios_arrow_up_white_circle_blue.png and Android send-anrdoid-arrow-to-right-white-circle-blue-media.png or click Send send-desktop-arrow-to-right-blue-view-once-and-large-message-compose.png on Desktop.

What happens after I send a view-once message?

  • After sending, you can not view the message.
  • View once-dashed.png View Once Media is shown in its place.
  • The photo or video is not stored in your Signal conversation history after it is sent.

Receiver

How do I open a view-once message that I received?

  1. Tap or select the View once-1.png Media message bubble to view it in full screen.
  2. Tap X or press back to close the full-screen view.

How long do I have to open a view-once message that I received?

The media message is removed in whichever scenario comes first:

  • You opened the message.
  • You have not opened the message and the disappearing message timer (if set) ticks down.
  • You have not opened the message and it is 45 days after the message was sent to you.

What happens after I open a view-once message that I received?

  • The photo or video won't be stored in your Signal conversation history.
  • View once-dashed.png Viewed is shown in its place.

Are you seeing other icons for the view-once media? Follow these steps to update and enable automatic updates.

Original source ↗