Storage Management

Follow these steps to delete a message from each device individually:

Deleting a message or chat does not delete it from your contact's phone. Learn more about disappearing messages for messages that disappear from your device and your contact's device.

Did you mean to view:


Android

To manage storage usage:

  1. In Signal, tap your profile profile_avatar.png > Data and Storage > Manage storage > Review storage.
  2. Select Media, Files, Audio, or All.
  3. Tap and hold on an attachment.
  4. Optional: Tap to select any other attachments. 
  5. To save: Tap download-solid-24.png Save and, for some devices, select Yes to save outside of Signal.
  6. To delete: Tap TrashCan.png Delete and select Delete to confirm.

To manage message history and limit it by date:

  1. In Signal, tap your profile profile_avatar.png > Data and Storage > Manage storage. 
  2. Select Keep messages.
  3. Select Forever, 1 year, 6 months, or 30 days. 
  4. If you are changing to a shorter time period, tap Delete to confirm.

To manage message history and limit it by length:

  1. In Signal, tap your profile profile_avatar.png > Data and Storage > Manage storage. 
  2. Select Conversation length limit.
  3. Select from the options
    • 5,000 messages
    • 1,000 messages
    • 500 messages
    • 100 message
    • Custom and set the limit.
  4. If you are changing to a shorter time period, tap Delete to confirm.

 


iOS

Delete messages to clear data in Signal or view and save media to save outside of Signal.


Desktop

Delete messages to clear data in Signal or view and save media to save outside of Signal.

Original source ↗